Gov. Whitmer Announces Winners for 2022 Governor’s Service Awards

Winners will be honored at the Fox Theatre on Nov. 17 in Detroit

Gov. Gretchen Whitmer and the Michigan Community Service Commission today announced 46 individuals, businesses and nonprofit organizations recipients of the 2022 Governor’s Service Awards and applauded their commitment to volunteerism, service or philanthropy.

“Michigan succeeds because of Michiganders who go above and beyond to serve their communities and lift up others,” said Governor Whitmer. “This year’s winners get things done even when nobody’s looking because they know that every contribution makes a huge impact. I am honored to present the Governor’s Service Awards to this year’s 46 recipients and urge every Michigander to get involved in their community so we can move our state forward together.”

The Michigan Community Service Commission will host the 2022 Governor’s Service Awards on Nov. 17, 7 p.m. at the Fox Theatre in Detroit. Admission to event is free, but registration is required. To register, visit

To recognize those who go above and beyond, the Governor’s Service Awards have been presented since 1994. The Michigan Community Service Commission supports Michigan volunteers, organizations and businesses that are committed to service and play a critical role in improving the lives of our people and communities.

“We are proud to recognize this remarkable group of Michiganders who are an inspiration when it comes to helping others,” said Michigan Community Service Commission Executive Director Ginna Holmes. “Their service has strengthened communities and made our state more resilient.”

The winners include:

Lifetime Humanitarian Award: Gail Perry-Mason (Detroit)
Governor George Romney Lifetime Achievement Award: Marlowe Stoudamire (posthumously)
Philanthropist Award: Izzo Legacy Family Fund (East Lansing)
Civic Engagement Impact Award: Astrid Fan (East Lansing), Krish Ghosalkar (Troy), John Wesley Cromer, Jr. (Detroit), Irene Sinclair (Southfield), Paul Charette (Lansing), USP4GG Michigan (Sterling Heights), Challenge Detroit (Detroit)
Community Impact Award: Ava Bunao (Troy), Barbara Matney (Warrendale), Ford Resource and Engagement Center – Detroit East (Detroit), Michael Kent (Traverse City), Jane Beach (Edmore), Grow Benzie (Benzie County), Antionette Buckley (Flint)
Corporate Social Impact Award: Barton Malow (Southfield), Caster Concepts (Albion), Detroit Pistons (Detroit), Hemlock Semiconductor (Hemlock), Lake Trust Credit Union (Brighton)
Environmental Impact Award: Lorana Jinkerson (Marquette), Akshitha Sahu (Troy), Manistique Community Treehouse Center (Manistique), Peace Tree Parks (Detroit)
Health Impact Award: Katherine Heath (West Bloomfield), Alison Jakubcin (Alpena), Jim Kaski (St. Clair County), Dr. Michael Lutz (Rochester Hills), Dr. Amy Yorke (Flint), Gleaners (Southeast Michigan), Lighthouse (Oakland County)
National Service Impact Award: Cortnie Parish (Howell), Thomas Steele (Swartz Creek), June Swift (Grand Rapids), YouthWork AmeriCorps– Child and Family Services of NW MI (Traverse City), Economic Opportunity Coaching Corps AmeriCorps – Peckham, Inc.
Youth Services Impact Award: Kimber Yanke-Bishop (Birmingham), Diane Feenstra (Traverse City), Stephen Mayfield (Flint), Cathrine Ovenshire (posthumously), Elizabeth Voglewede (St. Joseph), Career Technical Education Committee ((Marquette and Alger Counties) Detroit Economic Club (Detroit), Rhonda Walker Foundation (Detroit)

Visit for winners’ full biographies and more information.