Michigan Chemistry Council announces new leadership

The Michigan Chemistry Council announced that its board of directors has elected a new president and vice president for two-year terms.

Steve Persyn, Midland Site Leader for International Flavors & Fragrances, will serve as MCC’s president and board chair. Persyn is a native of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula and has been a manufacturing leader in the Michigan Operations site at Dow, SK Saran, DuPont and now IFF.

Jason Griffin, State Government Affairs Director for Hemlock Semiconductor in Thomas Township, will serve as MCC’s vice president. Griffin has worked in and around state politics for more than 17 years, and is an expert in energy policy, climate change and sustainability in the manufacturing sector.

Transitioning to past president will be Mark Kramer, President & CEO of Anderson Development Company in Adrian. Kramer has served on MCC’s board since 2016.

Dr. Joe Dellamorte, Wyandotte Site General Manager for BASF, will serve as MCC’s secretary. Kayla Peacock, Michigan EHS & S Leader for Corteva Agriscience in Midland, will serve as MCC’s treasurer. A complete board roster can be found at michiganchemistry.com/board. 

“We are excited to announce new leaders for the Michigan Chemistry Council as we continue our work on behalf of the business of chemistry in our state,” MCC Executive Director John Dulmes said. “Steve (Persyn) and Jason (Griffin) bring valuable experience and vision to our association, and will help us make an even greater collective impact for our members. We also recognize and are grateful for Mark’s dedicated service to the MCC and his outstanding leadership of our board.”

The Michigan Chemistry Council, established in 1967, represents Michigan’s chemical manufacturers, formulators and distributors. Chemistry is one of Michigan’s largest manufacturing sectors, supporting more than 80,000 Michigan jobs and directly impacting more than 96% of all manufactured goods.