CMU Board of Trustees approves new appointments to the CMURC board

Appointments underscore importance of Inclusive Entrepreneurship Initiative

Central Michigan University Board of Trustees has approved the appointment of four new members to the Central Michigan University Research Corporation (CMURC) Board of Directors.

CMU Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer Shawna Patterson-Stephens, CMU Dean of College of Science and Engineering David Ford, Hemlock Semiconductor Community and Diversity Liaison Raquel Ledesma Perez, and PNC Bank Community Development Specialist Dwayne Powell Jr. will be the newest members to join the board. The appointments share extensive experience working closely with leaders and community stakeholders, while executing diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives to create equitable experiences and opportunities.

“For the last couple of years, the CMURC team has worked to benchmark the current baseline of our community entrepreneurs and has made great outreach to create an inclusive environment for success,” said CMURC President + CEO Erin Strang. “The background, skill and vision of our new board members are exactly what we need to continue our efforts to create a level playing for all in the Great Lakes Bay Region.”